Wednesday, December 21, 2005

Oh! Sweet Sumthin': New Velvet Underground Release


Rhino has set a Jan. 24 release for the DVD debut of the Velvet Underground's "Live MCMXCIII," which chronicled the legendary act's brief 1993 reunion tour. Previously only available on VHS, "Live" was taped June 15-17, 1993, at Paris' Olympia and has here been remixed in 5.1 Surround Sound. The 15-song track list features such classic cuts as "Venus in Furs," "Femme Fatale," "Rock'n'Roll," "Sweet Jan," "I'm Waiting for the Man," "Heroin" and "Pale Blue Eyes." "Live" features the final performances of VU guitarist Sterling Morrison with bandmates Lou Reed, John Cale and Maureen Tucker, as he died of cancer in 1995.
Now that's what I'm talkin' about!

No comments: