Wednesday, October 12, 2005

Sananda Maitreya: Pop Stars Never Die, They Just Release Their Stuff on the Internet

Here's something kind of interesting from Yahoo!:

"Rock artist Sananda Maitreya releases 6 new songs of his project ‘Angels & Vampires - Volume II’, called Chapter I: ‘The rise of hetero-sapiens’.

* Pretty Baby
* South Side Run
* It’s Just My Pain
* Anesthesia
* Floodwater
* When Night Was Calling

All songs are written, arranged, produced and performed by Sananda Maitreya.

‘Floodwater’ is dedicated to those who have endured the rising tides of indifference: from New Orleans to France to Asia..."

And if you go to his website, you see this:

"WELCOME TO NEW ADVENTURES IN POST MILLENIUM ROCK ! I sincerely hope that you enjoy these recordings as much as I enjoyed making them! Soon we shall begin Volume II and we hope that you enjoy that as well. ANGELS & VAMPIRES – VOLUME I ….which one are you."

In case you don't know, Sananda Maitreya is Terrence Trent D'Arby. Good to know that he's making music again, though he might have lost his mind. Here's what he has to say about his project:

"Angels & Vampires relies quite heavily for its musical support from the four basic food groups of live music: real drums, bass, guitar and keyboards and went with a more intimate and organic sound in order to reintroduce sonic sub tones back into the bodies energy matrix long weakened by compressed digital overload and its over emphasis. Sonic sub tones help to bolster the bodies electromagnetic and sense of overall wellbeing. Angels & Vampires also sought to create a sound base which would provide more emotional space in which the songs might breathe and feel less constricted. I felt that the WildCard project was a little too "studio-orientated", but was what the time and circumstances required. With this project, I wanted it to be less about the studio and more about me and the songs”.

So there you go.

No comments: