Friday, January 13, 2006

More on Devo 2.0

I got emailed a press release about Devo 2.0. Here's some of it:

DEVO, one of the '80s most innovative and iconic bands, has partnered with Disney Sound to bring their hits to a new generation with 'DEVO 2.0,' a combination CD/DVD package set for release on March 14th. The original members of DEVO rerecorded ten of their old songs (some with revamped lyrics) and two brand new ones with DEVO 2.0, a group of five talented kids aged 10-13.

"The concept is about the energy and aesthetic of DEVO being passed like an Olympic torch to a new generation," said DEVO frontman Gerald V. Casale, who directed all 11 newly created music videos on the DVD. The platinum-selling band handpicked kids Nicole, Jackie, Nathan, Michael and Kane to don the famous "energy domes" and become DEVO 2.0; unlike the original DEVO, DEVO 2.0 is a co-ed affair, with lead singer Nicole and keyboardist Jackie lending diversity to the DEVO chemistry. "I'm honored to be the new Mark Mothersbaugh!" declared Nicole.

"DEVO is one of my favorite bands," Buena Vista Music Group EVP & GM David Agnew said in a recent interview. "I think their music was years ahead of its time -- and is timeless... it's playful and great to dance to, which is the key to any good kids' music. When you consider that Disney has been responsible for some of the most popular children's music of all time, and that most people trust Disney to bring them music that is appropriate for their kids, it seemed like a winning combination to me."

In addition to shots of DEVO 2.0 performing the songs, the DVD features frenzied, surreal animations, including neon dinosaurs, pandas in sombreros, and anthropomorphic potatoes; special features include an extensive photo gallery and interviews of the original DEVO's Mark Mothersbaugh and Gerald V. Casale by the members of DEVO 2.0. DEVO's most famous songs all make appearances, including "Freedom of Choice," "Girl U Want" (both in original form and rewritten as "Boy U Want" to more appropriately accommodate lead singer Nicole) and the platinum-certified hit "Whip It," a music video staple for a fledgling MTV network in the early 1980s. The band also offers up their first original songs in 15 years, "Cyclops" and "The Winner."

...Disney Sound, which is releasing DEVO 2.0, is Walt Disney Records' new imprint designed to create original musical works for the whole family. Disney Sound is planning a series of "remaking the band" projects, uniting original band members of iconic groups with talented kids for newly recorded CD and DVD releases. Next up is a partnership with the Go-Go's.


1. That's Good
2. Peek A Boo
3. Whip It
4. Boy U Want
5. Uncontrollable Urge
6. Cyclops
7. The Winner
8. Big Mess
9. Jerkin Back N Forth
10. Through Being Cool
11. Freedom of Choice
12. Beautiful World
This is just too Advanced for words. So go here to see some pictures instead.

1 comment:

Dean Esmay said...

Here's a video: